top of page

Carmela Cattuti Books

Receive chapter one of Between the Cracks when you subscribe below. 

Between the Cracks book cover image.jpeg
The Ascentnewcover.jpg
The Trilogy is Complete! Scroll down for details about each book. 
My Channel

My Channel

Watch Now

Join Angela Lanza as she experiences the tumultuous world of early 20th century Sicily and New York. Orphaned by the earthquake and powerful eruption of Mt. Etna in 1908, Angela is raised in the strict confines of an Italian convent. Through various twists of fate, she is married to a young Italian man whom she barely knows, then together with her spouse, immigrates to the U.S. This novel is an invitation to accompany the young Angela as she confronts the ephemeral nature of life on this planet and navigates the wide cultural gaps between pre-World War II Italy and the booming prosperity of dynamic young America.


Between the Cracks book cover image.jpeg
Praise for Between the Cracks:
"A very special book about a young woman’s journey to overcome tragedy and loss and find a place in a new world."
"Articulate and descriptive story."
"...beautifully written with deep, rich characters."
"...this book inspires me to gather more information about my ancestors."

Click here for full reviews. 
Chill with a book logo.png

The sequel to Carmela Cattuti's first novel, Between the Cracks, this story invites the reader to accompany Angela Lanza as she builds her life in America during the first half of the 20th century. A Sicilian immigrant, she manages to assimilate into the social life of a small town outside of New York City. Through the horrors of war, domestic tragedy, and raising her sister-in-law's children, hers is a successful immigrant experience. Angela seeks to transcend organized religion and develop her spirituality. She influenced three generations of Americans through her artistic sensibility and a sharpened intuition. The book parallels America's growth with Angela's growing sense of who she is in the world.


The Ascent Book Cover Image.png
Praise for The Ascent:
"...a beautifully written family saga."
" engaging, thought provoking story."
"...a perfect example of a historical novel."
"...the story made me keep reading long into the night."
"A wonderful experience following Angela on her life’s journey."

Click here for full reviews. 

The satisfying conclusion to Angela Lanza’s story which began in Between the Cracks when she loses her entire family in the earthquake on Sicily following the 1908 eruption of Mt. Etna and continues in The Ascent as she adjusts to life in the United States as a new bride and Italian American immigrant. Now, in the final installment in the trilogy, The Benevolence of New Ideas, thrusts Angela and her family into the heart of the Vietnam War and the turbulent times of the 1970s. As the family matriarch, Angela guides her niece, Marie, through these challenges and the era’s limiting structures of education and organized religion, helping Marie to embrace new ideas and expand her intuition and relationship with the unseen world. Angela’s compassion and wisdom has an exceptional impact on Marie’s life and those around her. A fulfilling ending that celebrates Angela’s wisdom in all things along with her well-lived life from tragedy to triumph and from heartbreak to the enduring love of family.


Praise for The Benevolence of New Ideas:
"A satisfying conclusion to a family saga that celebrates a life well-lived! The author has taken us on a journey not only through time, but also into the unseen world in this last installment of Angela Lanza’s life story."

"The trilogy of Angela Lanza’s life concludes with the gift of recognizing that nothing is fixed in time. The fabric of history entwines and thrives within each person, through relationships. Angela recognizes the unseen friends, who guided her from childhood trauma to secure family, ultimately dwell within her, are her."

Carmela Cattuti started her writing career as a journalist for the Somerville News in Boston, MA. After she finished her graduate work in English Literature from Boston College she began to write creatively and taught a journal writing course at the Cambridge Center for Adult Education As fate would have it, she felt compelled to write her great aunt's story. “Between the Cracks” has gone through several incarnations and will now become a trilogy. The second book is "The Ascent" and the third and final book in the trilogy is "The Benevolence of New Ideas." 
To connect with Carmela email her">

Learn more about the inspiration for the books from the author in these videos.

bottom of page